Minutes of the Hermitage School Board Meeting

May 10, 2021

The Hermitage Board of Education met on May 10, 2021 at 6 pm in the High School Cafeteria. The following board members were present: Russell Richard; Mary Hamilton; Gary Vines; Reia Thomas and David Wilkerson. Others present were: Dr. Tracy Tucker, Superintendent; Mistie McGhee 7-12 Principal/SIS; Rosalynda Ellis, K-6 Principal/SIS.

The minutes from the April 12, 2021 meeting were read. The motion to approve was made by Mary Hamilton. The second was made by Reia Thomas. The motion passed 5-0.

The financial report was reviewed. The motion to accept the report and pay bills was made by Mary Hamilton. The second was made by Reia Thomas. The motion passed 5-0.

Mistie McGhee gave the 7-12/Principal/SIS report.

Rosalynda Ellis gave the K-6 Principal/SIS report.

Dr. Tracy Tucker gave the Superintendent's report.

Dr. Tucker gave an update on the American Rescue Plan Act, CARES Act and ESSER funds.

Dr. Tucker gave an update on the storm damage to the middle school buildings.

A motion to approve updates to the 2021-2022 Virtual Learning Plan for grades 9-12 was made by David Wilkerson. The second was made by Mary Hamilton. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to approve the School Choice applications was made by David Wilkerson. The second was made by Reia Thomas. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to approve coverage for Property Insurance (ASBA - Risk Management) was made by Gary Vines. The second was made by Mary Hamilton. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to approve the process to solicit bids for the yearly items was made by Mary Hamilton. The second was made by Gary Vines. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to approve the School Improvement Plans for HHS and HES and the HSD Strategic Plan was made by David Wilkerson. The second was made by Reia Thomas. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to approve the Audits for operating and procurement of Child Nutrition was made by David Wilkerson. The second was made by Gary Vines. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to approve changes to the Child Nutrition Procurement Plan was made by Mary Hamilton. The second was made by David Wilkerson. The motion passed 5-0.

The Board went into Executive Session to discuss personnel. The Board came out of Executive Session.

Dr. Tucker made the following personnel recommendations:

- Accept resignations: Ashley Robinson, Kodie Hannegan, Lauren Holland, Leah McIntyre, and Jamie Corker (Parent Involvements at HHS only).
- Migrant workers for summer: Clare Ortiz, Faron Johnson, Erandi Acuchi-Alendar, Martha Martinez, Travis Stanley, Charish Blankinship, Yuri Hering, Madison McGhee, and Jamie Corker.

- Summer feeding program workers: Cathy Webb, Yulonda Thomas, and Lisa Thomas.
- Part-time Cafeteria Manager Sandra Green.
- Summer Technology Worker Kasey Kellum.
- Migrant tutor on 190 day contract and District Translator Erandi Acuchi-Alendar.
- Para-professional/aide: Travis Stanley, Amari Huitt.
- Teachers: Randy McDougald, Leah Smith, Shelby Gardner, and Shaun Wilson (coaching responsibilities).

The motion to accept these recommendations was made by Gary Vines. The second was made by Reia Thomas. The motion passed 5-0.

David Wilkerson left the meeting. Dr. Tucker made a recommendation to alter the position of Principal's Secretary at HHS to High School Principal's Secretary/Activity Bookkeeper with a change in 1+ years of service to \$12.25/hour. A motion to accept this recommendation was made by Reia Thomas. The second was made by Gary Vines. The motion passed 4-0. David Wilkerson returned to the meeting.

Russell Richard left the meeting. Dr. Tucker made a motion to hire 21st Century workers for elementary for the summer program: Kristi Best, Devan Pruitt, Tiffany Curtis, Amy Evans, Dalila Pedroza, Randi McDougald, Tracie Richard, and Shaun Wilson. The motion to accept the recommendation was made by Gary Vines. The second was by Mary Hamilton. The motion passed 4-0. Russell Richard returned to the meeting.

A motion to authorize Dr. Tucker to hire qualified applicants for open positions as needed for the 2021-2022 school year was made by Gary Vines. The second was made by Mary Hamilton. The motion passed 5-0.

A motion to adjourn was made by Reia Thomas. The second was made by David Wilkerson. The motion passed 5-0.

Board President	Date	
Board Secretary	Date	