UNAPPROVED MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ESTELLINE SCHOOL BOARD HELD MONDAY, APRIL 8, 2019 AT THE ESTELLINE SCHOOL.

The Estelline school board met on April 8, 2019 at 5:30 P.M. with the following members present: Tianna Beare, Chad Saathoff, Krecia Weinberg, LeAnne Johnson and Todd Bjorklund.

Others present: Jim Lentz, Gwen Taylor, Amy Miller, Justin Pitts, Jenna Aderhold and various staff members.

Chairman Beare called the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M.

04/83/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by K. Weinberg to approve the amended agenda as follows: add SDCL (1-25-2.4) preparations for negotiations under Executive Session item 10. All voted aye; motion carried.

There were no conflict of interest disclosures.

04/84/19: Motion by L. Johnson, second by T. Bjorklund to approve the consent agenda items to include: approval of March 11, 2019 minutes, April bills, and March financials. All voted aye; motion carried.

There was no public input.

Digital control presentations were given to the board by Tessier's Inc., Climate Systems, G&R Controls and Direct Digital Control regarding their proposals for replacing the Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning system. The building and grounds committee will review the proposals and bring their recommendation to the board.

04/85/19: Motion by L. Johnson, second by K. Weinberg to approve the final audit report for FY18. All voted aye; motion carried.

04/86/19: Motion by L. Johnson, second by C. Saathoff to approve the South Dakota School District Benefits Fund Adoption and Renewal Motion. There was a 0% increase. All voted aye; motion carried.

04/87/19: Motion by K. Weinberg, second by T. Bjorklund to approve SDHSAA Membership for 2019-2020. All voted aye; motion carried.

04/88/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to approve the driver's education fee to remain the same at the rate of \$175.00 or \$100.00 for F&R qualification. All voted aye; motion carried.

04/89/19: Motion by K. Weinberg, second by L. Johnson to offer an Administrative contract for the 2019-2020 school year to the Business Manager with salary determined at a later date. All voted aye; motion carried.

04/90/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to approve Quam, Berglin & Post, P.C. as the auditing firm for fiscal year ending 6/30/19. All voted aye; motion carried.

The Alumni Association is asking the Board to do the ice cream social during Alumni weekend.

K. Weinberg gave the monthly Northeast Ed Coop board meeting report.

T. Beare and K. Weinberg gave an update on the Policy Athletic Handbook.

Administrative comments:

- Mr. Bachman gave his report to the board.
- An Awards banquet will be held May 14 at 6:30 P.M. for Athletics and Fine Arts.
- Mrs. Taylor gave her report to the board.
- Mr. Pitts gave his report to the board.
- Mr. Lentz gave his report to the board.
- Congratulations to Elizabeth Hofer on being chosen for the 2019 Academic Excellence Award.

The next regular school board meeting will be May 13, 2019 at 5:30 P.M.

04/91/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of Personnel per SDCL (1-25-2.1) and Preparations for negotiations SDCL (1-25-2.4) at 8:12 P.M. All voted aye; motion carried.

President Beare declared the board out of executive session at 9:38 P.M.

04/92/19: Motion by K. Weinberg, second by C. Saathoff to appoint Chris Verhoek to serve a one year term on the school board effective July, 2019. All voted aye; motion carried.

04/93/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by L. Johnson to adjourn at 9:40 P.M. All voted aye; motion carried.

_____Board Chairman ______Business Manager