UNAPPROVED MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ESTELLINE SCHOOL BOARD HELD WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 15, 2020 AT THE ESTELLINE SCHOOL.

The Estelline school board met on January 15, 2020 at 5:30 P.M. with the following members present: Tianna Beare, Chad Saathoff, Chris Verhoek, Lynda Pierce and Todd Bjorklund.

Others present: Jim Lentz, Justin Pitts, Amy Miller, Jeremy Bachman and various staff members.

Chairman Beare called the meeting to order at 5:34 P.M.

President Beare led the Pledge of Allegiance.

01/66/20: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to approve the agenda as presented with the addition of 8.5 February meeting date. All voted aye; motion carried.

There were no conflict of interest disclosures.

01/67/20: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by C. Verhoek to approve the consent agenda items to include: approval of December 9, 2019 minutes, January bills, December financials, and approval of contracts for Molly Watt – Cheer Advisor \$1,086.95, Josephine Voegle – SpEd Teacher's Aide \$10.81/Hr., Scott Ross – PT Custodian \$13.00/Hr., Letter of Retirement from Julie Rieckman – Admin Asst. effective 06-30-2020. All voted aye; motion carried.

The Board would like to give their sincere gratitude to Mrs. Rieckman for all her years of service that she has given to the Estelline School District and the students.

Board member, C. Verhoek, gave a review of the Canyon Lake staff development that he was able to observe along with 4 elementary teachers and Mr. Lentz.

Mrs. Miller reviewed the quarterly financial reports.

01/68/20: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to approve the Tessier quote for phase 1 to replace air conditioning units in the amount of \$24,251.00. All voted aye; motion carried.

01/69/20: Motion by C. Verhoek, second by L. Pierce to approve the Birth to 3 contract. All voted aye; motion carried.

Tina Belden reviewed the Cyber Security walk through that was conducted by the State.

01/70/20: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to approve the Cybersecurity Incident Response Plan. All voted aye; motion carried.

01/71/20: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by C. Verhoek to approve the Combined Election Agreement with the City of Estelline. The Election Date will be April 14, 2020. All voted aye; motion carried.

Discussion was held on key fobbing the Arena.

Administrative comments:

- Mrs. Taylor gave her report to the board.
- Mr. Pitts gave his report to the board.
- Mr. Lentz gave his report to the board.

- Mr. Bachman gave his report to the board.
- Dakota Players are scheduled for February, 2021.

01/72/20: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of Personnel per SDCL (1-25-2.1) at 7:23 p.m. All voted aye; motion carried.

At this time, Gwen Taylor, Justin Pitts, Jim Lentz and Amy Miller were excused for the remainder of the meeting.

President Beare declared the board out of executive session at 8:46 p.m.

01/73/20: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to adjourn at 8:46 P.M. All voted aye; motion carried.

The next regular school board meeting will be February 12, 2020 at 5:30 P.M.	
Board Chairman	Business Manager