UNAPPROVED MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ESTELLINE SCHOOL BOARD HELD MONDAY, JULY 08, 2019 AT THE ESTELLINE SCHOOL.

The Estelline school board met on July 08, 2019 at 5:30 P.M. with the following members present: Tianna Beare, Chad Saathoff, Krecia Weinberg, LeAnne Johnson and Todd Bjorklund.

Others present: Jim Lentz, Gwen Taylor, Justin Pitts, Amy Miller, Jeremy Bachman, Chris Verhoek, Lynda Pierce, Jenna Aderhold, and various staff members.

Chairman Beare called the public budget portion of the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M. The board reviewed and discussed a copy of the detailed preliminary budget.

07/01/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by L. Johnson to approve the amended agenda as follows: Add approval of capital projects to 9.4. All voted aye; motion carried.

There were no conflict of interest disclosures.

K. Weinberg gave the monthly Northeast Ed Coop board meeting report.

L. Johnson didn't have anything to report on behalf of the Alumni Association.

L. Johnson spoke on behalf of the Economic Development. There will be a meeting at the 4-H building in Hayti at 7 P.M. on July 23 to discuss transportation needs for the county. The community picnic will be held August 14 from 5:30-7:30 P.M.

07/02/19: Motion by K. Weinberg, second by L. Johnson to approve the June 10 and June 28, 2019 minutes and pay all final June 2019 bills as presented. All voted aye; motion carried.

The Estelline School Board of Education would like to recognize Krecia Weinberg and LeAnne Johnson for their 6 years of dedicated service to the patrons, teachers, staff members, administrators and students of the Estelline School District.

07/03/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by L. Johnson to adjourn for fiscal year 2018-2019 at 6:30 P.M. All voted aye; motion carried.

The first meeting of the Estelline School board for fiscal year 2019-2020 was called to order by Business Manager Miller.

At this time, the Oath of Office was read and signed by new Board member Lynda Pierce and appointed Board member Chris Verhoek.

Nominations were taken for Chairman. T. Bjorklund nominated T. Beare. No other nominations were made. Vote 5-0 for Tianna Beare as Chairman.

At this time, Chairman Beare asked for nominations for Vice President. C. Saathoff nominated T. Bjorklund. No other nominations were made. Vote 5-0 for Todd Bjorklund as Vice President.

Conflict of Interest disclaimer per HB1214: Board member T. Beare shared that her spouse works for Estelline Community Oil which the school district holds a contract with for fuel. Board member C. Saathoff shared that his spouse is an employee of the Estelline School District. Board member C. Verhoek shared he is the owner of Country Corner which is a vendor of the school for rent, food,

supplies and fuel. Business Manager A. Miller shared that her spouse, Ryan Miller dba Miller Farm Service, provides services on the school buses.

07/04/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to approve the July bills, June financials as presented, the following fall sports contracts: Jeremy Bachman – Football, Matt Hausman – Asst. Football, Ben Shay – JH Football, Tiffany Runia – Asst. Volleyball, Carla Clarke – Concessions Advisor and James Benning – Cross Country, accept the resignation from Christy Francisco – paraprofessional and approval of capital projects – Climate Systems, wireless network, freshman computers, shop storage shed and materials for a ticket taker booth to be built by students. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/05/19: Motion by C. Verhoek, second by T. Bjorklund to approve the appointment of the following items: All voted aye; motion carried.

- Federal Programs Coordinator James Lentz/Justin Pitts
- Asbestos Coordinator James Lentz
- Special Education Representative Justin Pitts
- Truant Officers James Lentz/Justin Pitts
- Transportation Supervisor James Lentz
- School Lunch Representative Amy Miller
- 504 Coordinator Justin Pitts
- Custodian of all accounts in activities and food service accounts Amy Miller with James Lentz to sign checks in her absence.

07/06/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to establish the Trust & Agency imprest amount at \$5,000.00. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/07/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by C. Verhoek to advertise for quotes on dairy products (1% and skim), baked goods, snow removal, gas and diesel to be opened at August board meeting. All vote aye; motion carried.

07/08/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to approve the following items: All voted aye; motion carried.

- School board meeting dates will be the 2nd Monday of every month at 5:30 P.M. unless otherwise stated.
- Board Pay will be \$75.00 per meeting.

07/09/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to authorize Superintendent Lentz to close school due to inclement weather. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/10/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to approve the following committee appointments: All voted aye; motion carried.

- Transportation: C Saathoff, T Bjorklund
- Building/Grounds: T Bjorklund, C Saathoff
- Negotiations: T Beare, L Pierce
- Budget and Finance: C Saathoff, T Beare
- Curriculum and Technology: T Bjorklund, L Pierce

- Policy: C Verhoek, L Pierce
- Professional Development: C Verhoek, T Beare
- NESC Board Representative: T Bjorklund, L Pierce
- Alumni Liaison: C Verhoek
- Economic Development Representative: L Pierce

The approval of MS/SH/Elementary Student Handbooks will be tabled until August meeting.

The approval of Estelline School District Meal Prices will be tabled until August meeting.

07/11/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to designate Scott Swier as school attorney. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/12/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Verhoek to designate the Estelline Journal as the official school newspaper. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/13/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to designate Reliabank as the official depository. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/14/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by L. Pierce to approve the Special Education Comprehensive Plan. All voted aye; motion carried.

The next Hendricks combined board meeting will be July 22nd at 6 P.M. at the Hendricks school

Administrative comments:

- Mrs. Taylor gave her report to the board.
- The fall sports meeting will be held August 6th at 6:30 P.M.
- Football practice starts August 12, 2019.
- Volleyball and Cross Country practice starts August 15, 2019.
- Mr. Bachman stated the HS schedules are on the website.
- Mr. Pitts gave his report to the board.
- Mr. Lentz presented the HVAC equipment inspection showing the proposed repairs/replacement from Active Heating.

07/15/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by T. Bjorklund to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of student matter SDCL (1-25-2.2) at 7:54 P.M. All voted aye; motion carried.

President Beare declared the board out of executive session at 8:14 P.M.

07/16/19: Motion by T. Bjorklund, second by C. Saathoff to deny open enrollment request. All voted aye; motion carried.

07/17/19: Motion by C. Saathoff, second by C. Verhoek to adjourn at 8:14 P.M. All voted aye; motion carried.

The next regular school board meeting will be August 12, 2019 at 5:30 P.M.

Board Chairman	Business Manager