## BOARD OF EDUCATION INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT 2397 LE SUEUR-HENDERSON PUBLIC SCHOOLS

## MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING AUGUST 24, 2009

The special meeting of the Le Sueur-Henderson Board of Education was called to order at 6:35 P.M. with the following board members in attendance: John Chamberlain, Henry Endres, Jayne Lieske, Jim Mayer, Pat McCoy, and Sue Rame.

Also in attendance: Superintendent Dave Johnson, Principals Kevin Enerson and Bill Bjorndahl, Assistant Principal/Activities Director Dave Swanberg, Assistant Principal/Curriculum Coordinator Tom Quiram, District Accountant Pat Goggin, Property Services Director Mark Vrklan, Community Ed Director Nate Warden, Community Ed Intern Adam Kalal, M/H School Teacher Cathy Schluter, and News Herald Publisher/Editor Stephanie Hill.

Item 2.0 Motion by Lieske, second by Mayer, carried 6-0 to approve the meeting agenda.

## Item 3.0 Motion by McCoy, second by Rame, carried 6-0 to approve the following personnel Items:

- 3.1.1 Reinstated Barb Hoffman as custodian
- 3.1.2 Reinstated the following Classified Personnel:
  - 3.1.2.1 Community Education Secretary Pat Willaert
    - 3.1.2.2 6.5 Hour/Day Behavior/Tech/Playground Assistant @ Park Julie Gerdts
    - 3.1.2.3 6 Hours/Day Title I at Park Elementary Kaari Smith
  - 3.1.2.4 6 Hours/Day Title I / Playground at Park Elementary Joy Steuck
  - 3.1.2.5 5.75 Hours/Day Title I / Playground at Hilltop Sue Boehne
  - 3.1.2.6 5.5 Hours/Day Title I at Park Elementary Mary House
  - 3.1.2.7 3 Hours/Day Title I at Park Kristi Drent
- 3.1.3 Employed Paraprofessionals at Park Elementary as Follows:
  - 3.1.3.1 Special Education 1-1 Mobility Assistant Amanda Swanberg
  - 3.1.3.2 Title I/ECSE 1-1 Management Assistant Rachel Ely
  - 3.1.3.3 ECSE 1-1 Management Assistant Tracy Hill
- 3.1.4 Accepted Resignation of ECFE Preschool Teacher Ann Davidson
- 3.1.5 Accepted Resignation of Middle School Football Coach Keith Bense
- 3.1.6 Employ Extra/Cocurricular Personnel as Follows:
  - 3.1.6.1 7th grade Boys Basketball Coach- Brad Schmidt
  - 3.1.6.2 9th grade Baseball Coach Bruce Hollom
  - 3.1.6.3 8th grade Football Coach Larry Hylarides
  - 3.1.6.4 Head Girls Hockey Coach Sarah Moe
  - 3.1.6.5 Head Girls Track Coach Becky Straub
  - 3.1.6.6 Head Boys Track Coach Larry Hylarides
  - 3.1.6.7 Head Wrestling Coach Scott Wilson
  - 3.1.6.8 Head Speech Coach Kristen Anderson Scheurer
  - 3.1.6.9 Middle School Football Coach Don Marcussen
- 3.1.7 Approved Transfer of Elke Braun from 5.75 to 6.5 Hours/Day Paraprofessional at LSH M/H School
- 3.1.8 Accepted the resignation of Sherri Fritz as Junior Class Advisor
- 3.1.9 Approved the employment of .85 FTE Special Education Teacher at Park and Hilltop Stefanie Eischens
- Item 4.1 The School Board Nominating Committee provided an update on the progress of replacing Ginny Huntington, who resigned in July.

Item 4.1.1 A resolution was introduced for adoption by Board Member Jayne Lieske to fill the school board vacancy by appointment as follows:

**RESOLUTION FILLING SCHOOL BOARD VACANCY BY APPOINTMENT** 

WHEREAS, a vacancy exists in the office of school board member with a term expiring the first Monday of January, 2011; and

WHEREAS, the vacancy has occurred on or after the first day to file affidavits of candidacy for the school district general election or less than two years remain in the unexpired term; and

WHEREAS, Molly Fixsen meets the qualifications established by Minnesota law to serve as a school board member;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 2397, State of Minnesota, as follows:

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 123B.09, Subd 5, Molly Fixsen is hereby appointed to fill the vacancy, effective upon acceptance of the Oath of Office on September 14, 2009, and to serve the remainder of the unexpired term ending on the first Monday of January, 2011 and until a successor is elected and qualifies.

## **INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT 2397**

Pat McCoy, Clerk Le Sueur-Henderson Board of Education

August 24, 2009

Said resolution was seconded by Board Member Jim Mayer and duly adopted by the following roll call vote:

Endres - yes	McCoy - yes
Lieske - yes	Rame - yes
Mayer - yes	Chamberlain - yes

- Item 4.2 Board members discussed site visitation schedules and parameters. Superintendent Johnson will print out a summary and give to board members at the next meeting.
- Item 5.1.1 Building and Grounds Coordinator Mark Vrklan provided board members an update of the summer facility projects.
- Item 5.2.1 Motion by Mayer, second by Endres, carried 6-0 to approve the agreement with IEA for Environmental, Health, & Safety (EH&S) Management Services for fiscal years 2009-2012.
- Item 5.2.2 Motion by Endres, second by Rame, carried 6-0 to approve the Letter of Agreement with SOCRATES for 2009-10 Telecommunications Services.
- Item 5.2.3 Motion by McCoy, second by Lieske, carried 6-0 to renew the Food Service Management Contract with Taher, Inc. for 2009-10.

Item 5.2.4	District Accountant Pat Goggin reported on the results of the aid anticipatory bond sale.
Item 5.2.5	Motion by Endres, second by Rame, carried 6-0 to approve the agreement with the City of Le Sueur/Transit for shuttle service between Park Elementary School and St. Anne's School effective September 1, 2009.
Item 5.2.6	Board members were provided a list of those school district fundraising activities that are under Board control. This is informational only.
Item 5.3.1	Motion by Mayer, second by Lieske, carried 6-0 to accept the annual report of the Minnesota New Country School (MNCS) for 2008-09.
Item 5.3.2	Adam Kalal reported to board members regarding his experience interning in the Community Education program this summer under the mentorship of Director Nate Warden.
Item 5.3.3	Principals Bill Bjorndahl and Kevin Enerson provided a recap of the summer school session, which ended recently.
Item 5.3.4	A work session will be organized by Superintendent Johnson and Board Chair Chamberlain to review analysis of the MCA II and NWEA results. This work session will include board members, administration and staff.
Other:	On the first day of the 2009-10 school year, John Chamberlain and Henry Endres will welcome back students at the middle/high school, Pat McCoy will be at the Park Elementary 3rd grade door, Sue Rame will be at the Park 4th grade door, and Jayne Lieske will greet students at Hilltop.
Item 7.0	Motion by Rame, second by McCoy, carried 6-0 to adjourn the meeting at 10:07 P.M.

Pat McCoy, Clerk