ORGANIZATIONAL & SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES April 27, 2021

6:30 p.m. - Nokomis Unit Office

CALL ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL OF OLD BOARD.

President Chad Ruppert called the organizational board meeting to order and roll call of old board was taken with seven board members present. Board members present were Janssen, Ruppert, Eisenbarth, Bauman, Fesser, Tarter, and Gasparich. Also present was Superintendent Doerr.

Guests present included Ellen Christner.

Dr. Doerr presented Jim Eisenbarth with a plague for his service, dedication, and commitment for serving on the Board of Education for a total of 20 years.

Mr. Eisenbarth thanked the Board, the teachers, staff, and administration for all of their hard work in providing a quality education to our students.

I MOVE TO APPROVE THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING AGENDA FOR APRIL 27, 2021 AS PRESENTED.

Motion by Janssen seconded by Tarter to approve the Organizational Board Meeting Agenda for April 27, 2021 as presented. Motion passed by voice vote.

I MOVE TO ACCEPT THE CANVASSING OF THE APRIL 6, 2021 ELECTION BY THE MONTGOMERY COUNTY CLERK AND RECORDER.

Motion by Janssen seconded by Fesser to accept the canvassing of the April 6, 2021 election by the Montgomery County Clerk and Recorder. Motion passed by voice vote.

I MOVE THE BOARD OF EDUCATION ADJOURN SINE DIE.

Motion by Eisenbarth, seconded by Tarter for the Board of Education to adjourn sine die. Motion passed by voice vote.

Ranking Board Member, Chad Ruppert administered the Oath of Office to the four newly elected Board members, Denny Bauman, Carl Ray Fesser, Steve Janssen, and Carl Kettelkamp.

I MOVE TO APPOINT CHAD RUPPERT AS PRESIDENT PRO-TEMPORE.

Motion by Fesser, seconded by Janssen to appoint Chad Ruppert as President Pro-Tempore. Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA, Eisenbarth – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA. Motion passed.

MOTION TO APPOINT DENNY BAUMAN AS SECRETARY PRO-TEMPORE.

Motion by Janssen, seconded by Fesser to appoint Denny Bauman as Secretary Pro-Tempore. Ruppert – YEA, Eisenbarth – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter - YEA, Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA. Motion passed.

ROLL CALL OF NEW BOARD

President Pro-Tempore Ruppert called the meeting to order and roll call of the new board was taken with seven board members present. Board members present were Janssen, Ruppert, Kettelkamp, Bauman, Fesser, Tarter, Gasparich.

I NOMINATE CHAD RUPPERT AS PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD FOR A TWO YEAR TERM.

Motion by Janssen, seconded by Fesser to nominate Chad Ruppert as President of the Board for a two year term.

Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA. Motion passed.

I NOMINATE STEVE JANSSEN AS VICE-PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD FOR A TWO YEAR TERM.

Motion by Fesser, seconded by Kettelkamp to nominate Steve Janssen as Vice-President of the Board for a two year term.

Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA, Kettelkamp – YEA. Motion passed.

I NOMINATE DENNY BAUMAN AS SECRETARY OF THE BOARD FOR A TWO YEAR TERM.

Motion by Tarter, seconded by Janssen to nominate Denny Bauman as Secretary of the Board for a two year term.

Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA, Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA. Motion passed.

I MOVE TO APPOINT JAN O'MALLEY AS DISTRICT TREASURER FOR A TWO-YEAR TERM.

Motion by Tarter, seconded by Fesser to appoint Jan O'Malley as District Treasurer for a twoyear term

Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – NAY, Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA, Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA. Motion passed.

I MOVE TO AUTHORIZE THE FOLLOWING CHECK SIGNERS FOR TWO YEARS: UNIT #22 CHECKS – JAN O'MALLEY AND BOARD PRESIDENT, JH AND HS ACTIVITY FUND – RACHELLE MCDOWELL AND KATHY FOSTER, NORTH ACTIVITY FUND – KEVIN REEDY AND SPRING HUSTON, AND DISTRICT IMPREST FUND – SUSAN SULLIVAN AND SHARON LANGEN.

Motion by Fesser, seconded by Tarter to authorize the following check signers for two years: Unit #22 Checks – Jan O'Malley and Board President, JH and HS Activity Fund – Rachelle McDowell and Kathy Foster, North Activity Fund – Kevin Reedy and Spring Huston, and District Imprest Fund – Susan Sullivan and Sharon Langen.

Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA, Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA. Motion passed.

I MOVE TO AUTHORIZE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF NOKOMIS, IPTIP, AND LIQUID ASSET MAX AS THE DISTRICT DEPOSITORY OF FUNDS.

Motion by Tarter, seconded by Kettelkamp to authorize First National Bank of Nokomis, IPTIP, and Liquid Asset Max as the district depository of funds.

Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA, Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA. Motion passed.

I MOVE TO AUTHORIZE THE SUPERINTENDENT TO MAKE NECESSARY AND APPROPRIATE INTER-FUND LOANS AND TRANSFERS AS ALLOWED BY LAW.

Motion by Janssen, seconded by Fesser to authorize the Superintendent to make necessary and appropriate inter-fund loans and transfer as allowed by law.

Ruppert – YEA, Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA. Motion passed.

I MOVE TO SET THE MONTHLY BOARD MEETINGS FOR FY22 AS PRESENTED.

Motion by Janssen, seconded by Fesser to set the monthly Board Meetings for FY22 as presented. Motion passed by voice vote.

I MOVE TO APPROVE THE RESOLUTION DENYING TAYLORVILLE CUSD #3's PETITION TO WITHDRAW FROM NPT SPECIAL EDUCATION COOPERATIVE.

Motion by Tarter, seconded by Fesser to approve the Resolution Denying Taylorville CUSD #3's Petition to withdraw from NPT Special Education Cooperative.

Kettelkamp – YEA, Bauman – YEA, Fesser – YEA, Tarter – YEA, Gasparich – YEA, Janssen – YEA, Ruppert – YEA. Motion passed.

I MOVE TO APPROVE THE EMPLOYMENT OF THE FOLLOWING: REBEKAH SIMPSON (PRE-K TEACHER) PENDING CERTIFICATION, LYDIA MCDONALD (PART-TIME INSTRUCTIONAL COACH), AND CINTHIA GILLESPIE (HS MATH TEACHER) FOR THE 2021-2022 SCHOOL YEAR.

Motion by Gasparich, seconded by Fesser to approve the employment of the following: Rebekah Simpson (Pre-K Teacher) pending certification, Lydia McDonald (Part-Time Instructional Coach), and Cinthia Gillespie (HS Math Teacher) for the 2021-2022 school year.

I MOVE TO ADJOURN

Motion by Tarter seconded by Fesser to adjourn. Motion passed by voice vote.	
Chad Ruppert, President	Denny Bauman, Secretary