PIONEER CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT, YORKSHIRE, NY

CONGRATULATIONS, CLASS OF 2023!

Pioneer High School's Class of 2023 is ready to face the challenges that await them now that they've graduated.

Commencement was held for the first time on a Friday evening, June 23. In less than two hours, speeches were made, diplomas were awarded, and the senior video was shown.

Principal Katelyn Welker introduced Student Council president Chloe Raiber, who handled the hosting duties. She gave way to the student speakers: Class President Jackson Woolley, Salutatorian Kevina Drennan, and Valedictorian Kailey Place.

The faculty guest speaker was Guidance Counselor Timothy Breen, who expressed his pride and admiration for the Class of 2023. This year's seniors were just starting high school when the coronavirus pandemic began.











THE LIST OF GRADUATES:

Ethan Ashworth Addelaye E. Atkinson Alissa Atwater Keria Barber Mason Brooks Bates Walker A. Bekiel Emma G. Besch Matthew E. Bijhouwer Taylor Kay Blankenberg Brittany M. Bliss Dakota Bocharski Alyssa Susan Boldt Ella M. Braun Joshua Brown Kaelyn Mae Bull Gavin Michael Burdgick Christina A. Bush Haley Caplinger Brianna R. Card Zachary Ryan Carder Piper Carman James Thomas Carmody Natalie Jean Casella Maverick H. Cass Haley B. Celotto Amber Marie Chapman Aston J. Chapman Joshua Brian Chitty Alexander J. Clarkson Dennis W. Colarusso Lars A. Craft Andrea E. Cruz Savannah Cummings Makayla Cutler Morgan M. Davenport Jordan Sullivan Dodge Hannah M. Drennan Kevina M. Drennan Trey G. Driver Mallory Dziekonski Brooke Lynn Eastman Taniya D. Eldredge Jeffery Ernhardt Santana Alexis Ersing Kyler A. Felber

Mackenzie M. Fisher Reagan A. Fontaine Damian M. Fox Blair L. French Ella V. Fyock Vincent R. Geary Charles J. George Kayden L. George Vanessa L. Giboo Braeden M. Goodemote Christopher J. Grimmer Coldyn T. Hackett Carissa M. Harris Brady Heckathorn Braden Elijah Herman Christopher Herron Jr. Madison Marie Hewitt Jeremy D. Hibsch Seth M. Higgins Hannah Hoock Kaylee Rae J. Hurlburt Dylan Robert Hutchinson JodiLee L. Ikeler McKayla A. Jarka David J. Keem Gavin D. Kimpel Xander Lee Kirsch Austin Kraft Dakota James Krygier Aeddon A. Landphair Rylan P. Lemke Ryan M. Ludwig Cohen Lyons Haley E. Madigan Richard John Malik Joseph C. Mania Sayden K. Martell Levi Martino Connor James Matheis Olivia M. Mattson Devin J. Matuszak Emily Sue McChesney Nicholas A. McCormick Katelyn M. Meyers

Lillian M. Milligan

Sherri L. Morgan Rhiannon B. Muggleton Jennifer E. Murawski Abbiegail J. Neamon Charlotte J. Nickerson Mulligan G. Palmerton Nicholas Derek Petri Ty J. Petri Brody J. Phelps Hayden Cooper Pierce Colin M. Pixley Kailey M. Place Demsin R. Prefontaine Kayla A. Price Trinity Prutsman Kelly A. Quinn Chloe Mae Raiber Mateo J. Rodriguez Kaleb T. Ronan Thomas William Rosenthal Cody James Rossi Norman A. Rugg Cheyanne M. Rydzyk Evelyn G. Salzler Hunter Ronald Sanfilippo Sydney J. Schrock Trevor N. Schwartz Austin Dean Schweickert

Mackenzie Lynn Slisz Ryan B. Smith Elizabeth A. Stahl Amber Rose Steiner Jenna Mae Steves Kyle M. Stover Zander E. W. Terhune Andrea M. Tingue Payton J. Tingue Isabella M. Tortorice Ashley M. Unger Lillian G. VanDerlaske Ethan M. VanSlyke Ethan J. Wainwright **Ethen Thomas Warner** Desirai Grace Washburn Jared J. Weixlmann Johnathan D. Westfall Hannah Elizabeth Whitehead Adam J. Wienclawski Kaiya L. Wilber Hailee Marie Williams Sydney M. Wilton Connor L. Windsor Conner S. Woloszyn Jackson R. Woolley Kaden J. Wright Morgan Michelle Wright



CAREER TECH GRADUATION HELD AT PIONEER

Career Tech students from CA BOCES' Ellicottville Center received their diplomas during ceremonies held June 16 at Pioneer High School.

CTE Principal Noel Sheehy presided over his 15th commencement, welcoming the students and well-wishers. Students also heard a commencement address from BOCES District Superintendent Scott E. Payne.

Animal Science instructor Kristina Ellis recognized members of Ellicottville's FFA chapter, including Pioneer students Amber Chapman and Jennifer Murawski,

SkillsUSA advisors Jordan Abdo and Ed Arnold introduced their graduates, including Pioneer's Connor Matheis, Emily McChesney, and Chris Grimmer.

Pioneer's 2023 Career Tech graduates:

ANIMAL SCIENCE: Amber Chapman, Jennifer Murawski, Abbiegail Neamon.

AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGY: Dakota Bocharski, Ryan Ludwig, Colin Pixley, Austin Schweickert.



CARPENTRY & CONSTRUCTION TRADES: Richard Mailk, Connor Matheis.

COLLISION REPAIR TECHNOLOGY: Gavin Kimpel, Hunter Sanfilippo.

COSMETOLOGY: Alissa Atwater, Natalie Casella, Emily McChesney

CRIMINAL JUSTICE: Lars Craft.

CULINARY ARTS: Aston Chapman, Christopher Grimmer. Austin Kraft, Mateo Rodriguez.

EARLY CHILDHOOD: Sherri Morgan, Cheyanne Rydzyk, Sydney Schrock, Desirai Washburn.

HEAVY EQUIPMENT: Joshua Brown, Charles George.

MEDIA COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY: Morgan Davenport, Kaleb Ronan.

MEDICAL ASSISTING: Mackenzie Slisz.

NATURAL RESOURCES: Hailee Williams.

WELDING & METAL FABRICATION: Olivia Matteson.



Alissa Atwater (Cosmetology) receives congratulations upon receiving her diploma.

NOMINATIONS ARE BEING ACCEPTED FOR 2023 ATHLETICS WALL OF FAME

The Pioneer Athletic Department is accepting nominations for the 2023 class of the Wall of Fame.

Applications can be filed by August 18. This year's finalists will be inducted during the Homecoming varsity football game on Sept. 29.

Nomination forms and criteria at https://5il.co/lyybk



Pioneer Central School District P. O. Box 9 Arcade, NY 14009

NON PROFIT ORG U.S. POSTAGE

PAID

PERMIT NO. 280 ARCADE, NY 14009

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Melissa Nocera-Collins, President Angela Wiseman, Vice President Darla Schwab, Denise Urbino, Wendy Burch, Mark Kless, Shawn Hannon, Brandon Pyc, and Eric Slocum

CENTRAL ADMINISTRATION

Nicholas Silvaroli, Superintendent of Schools
Anthony Montoro, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Operations
Shawna Gugino, Assistant Superintendent of Academic Services
William Weidner, Director of Athletics
Jean Vallance, Director of Special Education
Katelyn Welker, High School Principal
Richard Spinelli, Acting Middle School Principal
Kerry Slocum, Acting Arcade Elementary Principal
Matthew Langworthy, Delevan Elementary Principal

ECRWSS Postal Patron or Current Resident

PIONEER HONORS RETIRING STAFF

Retirees with over 360 years of combined service have called it a career in the Pioneer School District.

Pioneer celebrated its retiring staff, perfect attendance winners, and newly tenured staff at a Hawaii-themed sendoff on June 23, inside Pioneer High School's George C. Crawford Auditorium.



Amongst the Class of 2023 retirees are: Lisa Mangino, left, Donna Neamon, Jill Wilkie, Sharon Brush, Colleen Clester, Erik Maeder and Bill Allen.



ABOVE: Lisa Mangino, Lori Walczyk, Kathleen Raines, Jeannene Wagner, Dave Richards, Bob Schooley, Glen Shanahan, Erik Maeder, Sandra Yansick.

The honorees are listed below:

PIONEER HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS: Mary Doud (34 years); Robert Schooley (31 years); Glen Shanahan (30 years); Lori Walczyk (18 years); Sharon Brush (16 years)

HIGH SCHOOL SUPPORT STAFF: Deborah McEwen (11 years), Shirley King (14 years), Jane Kirchmeyer (12 years), Donna Neamon (30 years)

PIONEER MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHERS: William Allen (45 years); David Richards (32 years); Erik Maeder (30 years); Lisa Mangino (30 years)

MIDDLE SCHOOL SUPPORT STAFF: Greg Fiegl (34 years), Diane Gentner (25 years)

DELEVAN ELEMENTARY TEACHERS: Colleen Clester (30 years)

DELEVAN SUPPORT STAFF: Kathleen Raines (23 years)

ARCADE ELEMENTARY TEACHERS: Sandra Yansick (33 years); Jill Wilkie (32 years)

ARCADE SUPPORT STAFF: Jacqueline Smith (16 years)

DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR: Jeannene Wagner (18 years)

INSTRUCTIONAL TECHNOLOGY SERVICES:

Jane Antkowiak (23 years)