Hicksville Exempted Village Schools Organizational Meeting of the Board of Education January 11, 2021

The Hicksville Exempted Village Schools Board of Education met for their Organizational Meeting on Monday, January 11, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. in the Community Room.

The meeting was opened by President Pro Tem, Jennifer Caryer, with the following Board members answering roll call: Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer.

Craig Eiden moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to elect Jennifer Caryer as President of the Hicksville School Board of Education for 2021.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, and Galen Methvin. Jennifer Caryer abstained. Motion Carried 4-0 with 1 abstention.

Craig Eiden moved and Minda Jones seconded the motion to elect Galen Methvin as Vice-President of the Hicksville School Board of Education for 2021.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, and Jennifer Caryer. Galen Methvin abstained. Motion Carried 4-0 with 1 abstention.

Jennifer Caryer moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to appoint Minda Jones as Legislative Liaison to OSBA for 2021.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Minda Jones abstained. Motion Carried 4-0 with 1 abstention.

Craig Eiden moved and Jennifer Caryer seconded the motion to appoint Minda Jones as Student Achievement Liaison for 2021.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Minda Jones abstained. Motion Carried 4-0 with 1 abstention.

Minda Jones moved and Craig Eiden seconded the motion to appoint Stephanie Mazur as Athletic Council Representative for 2021.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer. Stephanie Mazur abstained. Motion Carried 4-0 with 1 abstention.

Minda Jones moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to appoint Keith Countryman as Tax Incentive Review Committee Representative for 2021.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Galen Methvin moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to appoint Dennis Vetter as Four County Board of Education Representative from 2021-2023.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to establish the 3rd Monday of the month, in the Community Room, for the regular 2021 board meetings at 5:30 p.m.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Minda Jones seconded the motion to adopt the following standing authorizations.

- a. Authorize to waive the reading of the board minutes unless otherwise requested by a board member.
- b. Authorize Treasurer to secure advances from Auditor when funds are available and payable to the school district.
- c. Authorize Treasurer to invest any inactive funds at the most productive interest rate.
- d. Authorize Treasurer to pay all bills within the limits of the appropriation resolution, and make appropriation modifications as needed.
- e. Authorize the Superintendent to employ such temporary personnel as is needed for emergency situations.
- f. Authorize the Superintendent to serve as purchasing agent for the school district.
- g. Authorize annual events on which public funds may be expended for meals, refreshments, gifts and amenities.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Minda Jones moved and Stehpanie Mazur seconded the motion at 5:37 p.m. to adjourn this meeting until the next regular meeting to be held on Monday, January 11, 2021, at 5:38 p.m.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0. Time 5:37 p.m.

Board President

Treasurer