SPRINGPORT PUBLIC SCHOOLS ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD OF EDUCATION VIRTUAL MEETING MONDAY, JANUARY 11, 2021

The January 11, 2021 Organizational Virtual Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 6:02 p.m. by President David Lightner.

Members present (virtually): Jeff Caudill, Eliott Cook, Granville Hayworth, David Lightner, Crystal Nowery, Pamela Parish and Chris Talbot

Administrative members present (virtually): Randy Cook, Tammy Kuntz, Tanya Newland, Shelly Mead and Jenny Dysert

Board members elected in the November 2020 election (David Lightner, Crystal Nowery, Pamela Parish and Chris Talbot) were sworn in by Trustee Cook.

The floor was opened for nominations for President.

Motion by Trustee Caudill, support by Trustee Talbot, to nominate David Lightner for President. Roll Call Vote: JC – aye, EC – aye, GH – aye, CN – aye, PP – aye, CT – aye and DL – aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

President Lightner opened the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Motion by Trustee Cook, support by Trustee Talbot, to nominate Jeff Caudill for Vice President. Roll Call Vote: JC – aye, EC – aye, GH – aye, CN – aye, PP – aye, CT – aye and DL – aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

President Lightner opened the floor for nominations for Secretary.

Motion by Vice President Caudill, support by Trustee Parish, to nominate Eliott Cook for Secretary. Roll Call Vote: JC – aye, EC – aye, GH – aye, CN – aye, PP – aye, CT – aye and DL – aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

President Lightner opened the floor for nominations for Treasurer.

Motion by Vice President Caudill, support by Secretary Cook, to nominate Granville Hayworth for Treasurer.

Roll Call Vote: JC – aye, EC – aye, GH – aye, CN – aye, PP – aye, CT – aye and DL – aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

A motion was made by Secretary Cook with support by Trustee Talbot to establish the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the board room of Central Office for the regular meetings of the Springport Board of Education with the exception of February, June, December and January 2022.

*February 8	March 15	April 19
May 17	*June 28	July 19
August 16	September 20	October 18
November 15	*December 13	*January 10

There was some discussion as the first day of deer season (November 15th) was questioned.

Roll Call Vote: JC – aye, EC – aye, GH – aye, CN – aye, PP – aye, CT – aye and DL – aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

Interim Superintendent Cook recommended the following be adopted for school business:

Motion by Trustee Talbot, support by Secretary Cook, to adopt the following depositories for school business: Homestead Bank, Albion; U.S. Bank, Detroit; Fifth Third Bank, Detroit; Bank of New York Mellon Trust, Detroit; County National, Jackson; and Huntington Bank, Grand Rapids.

Roll Call Vote: JC - aye, EC - aye, GH - aye, CN - aye, PP - aye, CT - aye and DL - aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

Motion by Secretary Cook, support by Vice President Caudill, to retain the law firms of Abbott, Thompson and Beer, P.C. of Jackson as general counsel, and Thrun Law Firm P.C. of East Lansing for legal services as required.

Roll Call Vote: JC — aye, EC — aye, GH — aye, CN — aye, PP — aye, CT — aye and DL — aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

Motion by Secretary Cook, support by Vice President Caudill, to appoint the Central Office Manager as the District Electronic Transfer Officer and the District Business Manager as the secondary officer to act on behalf of the Treasurer of the Board of Education.

Roll Call Vote: JC - aye, EC - aye, GH - aye, CN - aye, PP - aye, CT - aye and DL - aye Motion Carried, 7-0.

Discussion took place as preferences were made known by board members and their committee Assignments for 2021 are as follows:

2021 Assignments – (*) designates Chairman

<u>Personnel</u>	<u>Finance</u>	<u>Policy</u>	Bldg & Grounds	<u>Curriculum</u>
*Eliott Cook	*Granville Hayworth	*Chris Talbot	*Jeff Caudill	*Eliott Cook
David Lightner	Jeff Caudill	Granville Hayworth	David Lightner	Crystal Nowery
Crystal Nowery	Chris Talbot	Crystal Nowery	Pamela Parish	Pamela Parish

Eliott Cook will serve the district for the 2021 school year as the MASB representative, and Jeff Caudill as alternate.

Pamela Parish will serve as the Legislative Network Representative for 2021.

Chris Talbot/Crystal Nowery will serve as the JCASB representative for 2021.

Motion by Secretary Cook, Support by Vice President Caudill, to adjourn the organizational virtual meeting at 6:27 p.m.

Motion Carried.