ABERDEEN SCHOOL BOARD

February 8, 2016 – 6:00 pm

District Service Center 1224 3rd Street South

SCOTT WIRTH Vice-President

DR. BECKY GUFFIN Superintendent

REGULAR MEETING

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Roll Call

4. Good News

- a. Kris McCafferty, South Dakota High School Coaches Association Middle School Volleyball Coach of the Year, *Gene Brownell*
- b. Cortez Standing Bear, National Federation of High School Activities Associations South Dakota Spirit of Sport Award, *Gene Brownell*

5. Persons Wishing to Address the School Board

6. Board Remarks

7. *Approval of Minutes – January 11 and 25, 2016 (pages 3-6)

8. *Consent Agenda

- *a. Approval of <u>Financial Statement</u> (page 7)
- *b. Approval of <u>Bills</u> (pages 8-12)
- *c. Approval of Ratifications and Authorizations (under separate cover)
 1. Open Enrollment Application #2017-5
- *d. Approval of Personnel
 - 1. Administrative Approval Schutter
 - 2. Co-Curricular Resignation <u>Humphrey</u> (page 13)
 - 3. Co-Curricular Approval Dunnick
 - 4. Early Retirements <u>Ackerman, Brenden, Deibert, Dix, Hairgrove, Hartung, Kono</u> Letcher, <u>Mehlhaff Nikolas, Nikolas, Stoebner, Trumm, Twete, Wagenaar</u> (pages 14-27)
 - 5. Certified/Co-Curricular Resignations <u>Hedges</u>, <u>Hoistad</u>, <u>Kringen</u>, <u>Northrup</u>, <u>Ochsner</u>, <u>Stephenson</u>, <u>Wanner</u> (pages 28-34)
- *e. Approval of Donation Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation (page 35)

9. Approval of Agenda

10.	Rep	orts of the Superintendent:	Dr. Becky Guffin
	*a.	School Board Recognition (page 36)	Dr. Becky Guffin
		Counselors ReportHeather Aldentale	
	*с.	Approval of Mike Miller Elementary School Change Order #4 (pages 37-38)	Bob Pitz
	*d.	First Reading 2016-17 and 2017-18 School Calendar (pages 39-40)	Dr. Becky Guffin
		Second Reading/Revision Policy DFA (pages 41-43)	
	*f.	First Reading/Revision Policy DFAB (page 44)	Tom Janish
	*g.	First Reading/Revision Policy DJE (pages 45-47)	Tom Janish
	*ĥ.	First Reading/Revision Policy DJEA (page 48)	Tom Janish
		First Reading/Revision Policy DN (pages 49-50)	

11. Executive Session

a. Personnel Matter, SDCL, 1-25-2(1)

12. Adjournment

Denotes Exhibit

8. Consent Agenda

- *c. Approval of Ratifications and Authorizations (under separate cover)
 - 1. Open Enrollment Application #2017-5 for one (1) child
- *d. Approval of Personnel
 - 1. Administrative Approval (Beginning 2016-17 school year)
 - a. Nicole Schutter, Principal/Teacher, Mike Miller Elementary School
 - 2. Co-Curricular Resignation (end of 2015-16 school year)
 - a. Meredith Humphrey, Assistant Debate Coach, Central High School3. Co-Curricular Approval (beginning 2016-17 school year)
 - a. Jonathan Dunnick, Assistant Debate Coach, Central High School
 - 4. Early Retirements (end of 2015-16 school year)
 - a. Mrs. Karen Ackerman Independent Learning Center Teacher at Central High School. Mrs. Ackerman has been with the Aberdeen School District for 23 years.
 - b. Mrs. Dianne Brenden Counselor at Holgate Middle School. Mrs. Brenden has been with the Aberdeen School District for 22 years.
 - c. Mrs. Connie Deibert PE/Health Teacher at Simmons Middle School. Mrs. Deibert has been with the Aberdeen School District for 37 years.
 - Mrs. Vicky Dix Independent Learning Center Teacher at Central High School. Mrs. Dix has been with the Aberdeen School District for 26 years.
 - e. Mr. Steve Hairgrove PE/Health Teacher at Central High School. Mr. Hairgrove has been with the Aberdeen School District for 26 years.
 - f. Mrs. Marion Hartung Director of Human Resources. Mrs. Hartung has been with the Aberdeen School District for 31 years.
 - g. Mr. David Kono Fourth Grade Teacher at May Overby Elementary School. Mr. Kono has been with the Aberdeen School District for 36 years.
 - h. Mr. Jerome Letcher Band Teacher at Central High School. Mr. Letcher has been with the Aberdeen School District for 32 years.
 - i. Mrs. Cindy Mehlhaff Nikolas First Grade Teacher at May Overby Elementary School. Mrs. Mehlhaff Nikolas has been with the Aberdeen School District for 33 years.
 - j. Mr. David Nikolas Counselor at May Overby Elementary School. Mr. Nikolas has been with the Aberdeen School District for 30 years.
 - k. Mr. John Stoebner Science Teacher at Simmons Middle School. Mr. Stoebner has been with the Aberdeen School District for 24 years.
 - I. Mr. Dana Trumm Industrial Technology Teacher at Simmons Middle School. Mr. Trumm has been with the Aberdeen School District for 32 years.
 - m. Mrs. Darlene Twete Administrative Assistant at Simmons Elementary School. Mrs. Twete has been with the Aberdeen School District for 27 years.
 - n. Mrs. Kathryn Wagenaar, Special Education Nurse. Mrs. Wagenaar has been with the Aberdeen School District for 29 years.
 - 5. Certified/Co-Curricular Resignations (end of 2015-16 school year)
 - a. Dr. Mark Hedges School Psychologist. Dr. Hedges has been with the Aberdeen School District for 13 years.
 - b. Mrs. Carol Hoistad Kindergarten Teacher at Lincoln Elementary School. Mrs. Hoistad has been with the Aberdeen School District for 7 years.
 - c. Mr. Brian Kringen Science Teacher at Holgate Middle School. Mr. Kringen has been with the Aberdeen School District for 16 years.
 - d. Ms. Kelly Northrup Principal at Simmons Middle School. Ms. Northrup has been with the Aberdeen School District for 9 years.
 - e. Mrs. Shirley Ochsner Third Grade Teacher at Lincoln Elementary School. Mrs. Ochsner has been with the Aberdeen School District for 25 years.
 - f. Mrs. Jill Stephenson Counselor at Central High School. Mrs. Stephenson has been with the Aberdeen School District for 18 years.
 - g. Ms. Lonna Wanner PE Teacher at Simmons Elementary School. Ms. Wanner has been with the Aberdeen School District for 23 years.