# Hicksville Exempted Village Schools Regular Meeting of the Board of Education November 23, 2020

The Hicksville Exempted Village Schools Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, November 23, 2020 at 5:30 p.m. in the Community room. The meeting was opened by President, Jennifer Caryer, with the following Board members answering roll call: Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer.

Publice announcement from Mr. Countryman with regards to meeting required School District Nutrition Standards.

# Technology Report

# Matt Hoffman:

- The District is now 1 to 1 K-12, all devices are ready and in student hands. CARES Act Grants helped to pay for these devices.

# Principal Reports

Kirsten Coffman:

- Pumpkin project
- Gifted Testing
- United Way of Defiance is doing a book drive (\$20 of books for each student). Premier Bank has adopted all 368 elementary students and are donating \$7,360 to cover the cost of books.
- Partial remote learning began today for PK-4

Mike Altman:

- MS/HS began partial remote learning today and 16 scheduled to go through December 4<sup>th</sup>
- Students w/o home internet can use the library for their remote learning
- COVID-19 concerns Administration is doing contact tracing when students are diagnosed with COVID-19 as the County Department of Health is unable to keep-up with this activity
- Spoke about the ROX program that is being led by Mrs. Chamberlain, this is a program for our female population.

# Four County Career Center Report

Report from Denny Vetter, presented by President Caryer

# Superintendent's Report

- Veterans Day presentation was discussed
- Building Project concrete for the building is poured, building is under roof but not yet completely enclosed. Construction is on schedule or possibly slightly ahead of schedule
- Last week's in-service centered around the Hicksville Initiative including a Zoom presentation with Ron Clark

- On 11/24 Mr. Countryman, Lucas Smith and Jeff Haught will be touring two schools down by Indianapolis regarding their strength and conditioning program and the equipment that they use

Board acknowledged Mr. Countryman for his motivation of staff during these difficult times and also for his communication with staff and community regarding COVID issues.

Craig Eiden moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- 1. Minutes from the regular board meeting on October 19, 2020.
- 2. Treasurer's Consent Agenda Items
  - a. Cash Reconciliation as of October 31, 2020
  - b. Financial Statements for October 2020
  - c. Approve Amended Certificate of Estimated Resources for Fiscal Year 2021 as presented, total General Fund Resources of \$14,105,794.93 and total Resources for all funds of \$18,925,533.24
  - d. Approve Amended Fiscal Year 2021 Permanent Appropriations as presented, total General Fund Appropriations of \$11,674,290.27 and total Appropriations for all funds of \$14,699,078.93
- 3. Accept the following donations:
  - \$10,000.00 from Defiance Area Foundation for the Academic/Athletic Complex
  - \$ 1,000.00 from Johns Manville for Teaching Supplies

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Galen Methvin moved and Minda Jones seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

- Recommend to approve the resignation from Laura Wofford as Bus Driver effective October 22, 2020.
- Recommend to approve Jennifer Bergman as a classified substitute for the 2020-2021 school year.
- Recommend to approve the following supplemental contracts for the 2020-2021 school year.

Jeff Sleesman – Assistant Jr. High Boys Basketball Coach Jay Sowles – Head Jr. High Wrestling Coach

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Craig Eiden moved and Stephanie Mazur seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

Recommend to approve the following as a volunteer for the 2020-2021 school year.

Travian Tunis - Basketball

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Minda Jones seconded the motion to approve **Resolution No. 2021-06** to accept a contingency fee agreement and authorize litigation for the vaping epidemic among students.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Minda Jones moved and Craig Eiden seconded the motion to approve **Resolution No. 2021-07** to endorse the fair school funding plan, as introduced in the Senate Companion Bill to substitute H.B. 305, and to encourage the 133<sup>rd</sup> General Assembly to expedite the passage of the bill.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Stephanie Mazur moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to approve the following as stated.

• Recommend to approve the wrestling team to attend the following overnight match.

January 29, 2021 – January 30, 2021 @ Lima

• Recommend to approve January 11, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. as the date and time for the 2021 Organizational Board Meeting and appoint Mrs. Caryer as President Pro-Tem.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Craig Eiden moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to hold an executive session at this meeting in order to consider matters required to be kept confidential by federal law or rules.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0.

Mrs. Caryer further noted that the Board will return from executive session with no further business other than to adjourn.

The Board entered executive session at 6:25 p.m. The Board exited executive session at 6:52 p.m. Minda Jones moved and Galen Methvin seconded the motion to adjourn this meeting until the next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, December 21, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.

Roll call: Ayes – Craig Eiden, Minda Jones, Stephanie Mazur, Galen Methvin, and Jennifer Caryer. Motion Carried 5-0. Time 6:52 p.m.

**Board President** 

Treasurer