Hardy County Schools Regular School Board Meeting Hardy County Board of Education Office May 18, 2020

Members Present:

Nancy Hahn, President Douglas Hines, Vice President Dixie Bean Melvin Shook Jr. Jerry Yates

Administrators Present:

Sheena Van Meter, Superintendent Jennifer Strawderman, Assistant Superintendent Veeta Burgess, Director of Finance Sarah Earle, Director of Finance

Others Present:

Shawn Cullers Bill Hill Jean Flanagan Alicia Sanders

Public Comments:

I. Call to Order – President

Nancy Hahn, President, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

II. Prayer

Sheena Van Meter opened the meeting with prayer.

III. Pledge of Allegiance

Jerry Yates led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

IV. Introductions

Introductions were made around the room.

V. Approval of Agenda

A motion was made by Douglas Hines, seconded by Melvin Shook, to approve the agenda with updated personnel actions.

5-0 motion carried

VI. Presentation

A. PRO Officers

Deputy Alicia Sanders, Hardy County PRO Officer, updated the Board and answered questions regarding her position.

VII. Public Comments

No Public Comments

VIII. Consent Items

- A. Board Minutes May 4, 2020
- B. Bank Reconciliation April 30, 2020
- C. Treasurer's Report April 30, 2020
- D. Budget Journal Entries
- E. Invoices to be Approved

On the motion of Douglas Hines, seconded by Jerry Yates, the Board approved Consent Items.

5-0 motion carried

IX. Unfinished Business

A. Budget Update

Ms. Veeta Burgess, Director of Finance, provided the Board with an update on the budget. Ms. Burgess reviewed the budget with the Board by object codes and informed the Board of potential falls on reimbursement in food service and interest rates.

B. Approval of the Operating Budget for Fiscal Year 21

On the motion of Douglas Hines, seconded by Melvin Shook, the Board approved the Operating Budget for Fiscal Year 21.

5-0 motion carried

X. New Business

A. Discussion of 2018-2019 Audit

Ms. Veeta Burges, Director of Finance, provided the Board an overview of the findings from the 2018-2019 audit. The county board office had no findings. Ms. Burgess reviewed with the Board each finding from all schools.

XI. Board Members/Superintendent Discussion – No Action May Be Taken

Ms. Van Meter provided and discussed with the Board the CDC guidelines and the WVDE plan for reopening schools. Ms. Dixie Bean suggested Ms. Van Meter talk with Dave and Billie Jo Pratt on guidance for writing a plan and training for Hardy County.

XII. Future Agenda Items

- County Focus Update Ms. Strawderman and Ms. Van Meter June 1, 2020
- Security Grant/Camera Update Steve Williams June 1, 2020

XIII. Announcements

- May 27, 2020 Last date for Lunch Distribution
- June 1, 2020 Hardy County Board of Education Meeting BOE 5:00 p.m.

XIV. Mission Statements/Accomplishments

- The Board commended the staff who put together the senior "stuff" for graduation this Friday.
- The Board thanked the PRO Officers for the great job they are doing in the schools.

XV. Personnel

On the motion of Douglas Hines, seconded by Jerry Yates, the Board went into Executive Session at 6:14 p.m. Policy BDE, Item 2, Authorization A.

5-0 motion carried

The Board reconvened into regular session at 6:38 p.m. with no action taken.

On the motion of Douglas Hines, seconded by Melvin Shook, the Board approved the following:

Service Personnel Hirings:

- Rebecca Henry: Custodian II, EHEMS/EHHS, effective 2020-2021 SY (July 1, 2020)
- Pamela Swick: Secretary II/Accountant II, EHEMS, effective 2020-2021 SY (July 1, 2020)

5-0 motion carried

On the motion of Dixie Bean, seconded by Jerry Yates, the Board approved the following:

Professional Personnel Hirings:

- Richard Perkins: Kindergarten Teacher, MES, effective 2020-2021 SY
- Brooke Staggers: 1st Grade Teacher, MES, effective 2020-2021 SY

5-0 motion carried

On the motion of Douglas Hines, seconded by Melvin Shook, the Board approved the following:

Approved Resignations:

- Deana Williams: 3rd Grade Teacher, EHEMS, effective June 30, 2020
- Katelyn Pedder: Pre-K Teacher, EHEMS, effective June 30, 2020
- Tammie Ayers: Library/Media Specialist, MHS, effective June 30, 2020
- Susan Garrett: Long Term Substitute Teacher, Library/Media Specialist, MHS, effective May 26, 2020
- Stephanie Ours: Executive Secretary, Central Office, effective June 30, 2020
- Jacqueline Zirk: Custodian, ½ time position, MMS/Central Office, effective May 18, 2020

5-0 motion carried

XVI.	Adi	ournment	t

On the motion of Douglas Hines,	seconded by Jerry	Yates, the meeting	g adjourned
at 6:39 p.m.			-

5-0 motion carried		
	Nancy Hahn, President	
	Sheena Van Meter, Secretary	

Hardy County Schools Executive Session May 18, 2020

Members I	Present:
-----------	----------

Nancy Hahn, President Douglas Hines, Vice President Dixie Bean Melvin Shook Jr. Jerry Yates

Others Present:

Sheena Van Meter, Superintendent

On the motion of Douglas Hines, seconded by Jerry Yates, the Board went into Executive Session at 6:14 p.m. Policy BDE, Item 2, Authorization A.

5-0 motion carried

The Board reconvened into regular session at 6:38 p.m. with no action taken.

Nancy Hahn, President	