## SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING June 21, 2022, 7:30 P.M.

Marshall County Central School District Independent School District No. 441

The Marshall County Central School Board, Independent District No. 441, met in a regular session on June 21, 2022, 7:30 p.m. Newfolden, MN, High School Conference Room.

The meeting was called to order at 7:31 P.M. by Chairperson Mark Knutson, who presided. Other members present were Board Members: Mindy Dunrud, Kayla Nelson, Craig Bakke, Patti Anderson, Rob Anderson, Zackary Nicklin and Superintendent/Elementary Principal Jeffrey Lund. Others present were Melanie Sorenson.

Chairperson Mark Knutson conducted the hearing of the District Building Project Proposal MDE Review and Comment.

No Open Forum.

Member Kayla Nelson moved and Zackary Nicklin seconded the motion to approve the agenda as presented. MC.

Member Craig Bakke moved and Patty Anderson seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the May 16, 2022, Regular School Board Meeting. MC.

The Treasurer's report was reviewed.

Member Mindy Dunrud moved and Rob Anderson seconded the motion to approve the June 21, 2022, Board Bills as submitted in the amount of \$273915.65 check #'s 32450-32465, 32467-32476, 32478-32537, this total includes BSBS wire payment of \$51126.50, Food Service wires of \$22000.89 and activity fund payments of \$14,579.89 ck#'s 14381-14400. MC.

Superintendent/Elementary Principal Jeffrey Lund's report included information regarding summer maintenance and building updates, staffing needs, building project information and resources, legislative session, state reporting, CD investments and upcoming meetings and training.

High School Principal Brian Longerbone's report included information regarding spring/summer athletic schedule, honor roll, weight room schedule, and coaching openings.

Dean of Students Matt Nelson's report included student spotlights, honor rolls, Presidential Award winners and summer elementary technology installations.

Member Zackary Nicklin moved and Rob Anderson seconded the motion to approve the following Resolution of Commendations. MC.

- 1. District Honor Roll Students
- 2. Newfolden Elementary Presidential Award Winners Hailey Johnson, Gage Larson, Connor Lefebvre, and Sofi Wawrzyniak
- 3. Viking Elementary Reading and Attendance Award Winners
- 4. Newfolden Elementary Reading and Attendance Award Winners
- 5. Viking Elementary Citizenship Award Winners
- 6. MEE Award Winners: Gabriella Bradshaw, Ryland Kohlhase, Aaden Guerrero, and Kaitlyn Majer
- 7. Top Readers Viking Elementary Gunnar Swan and Sophie Engen
- 8. Top Readers Newfolden Elementary Sophia Swan
- 9. Softball All Conference Reese Rustad and Rhiannon Horien; Honorable Mention Brooke Glad
- 10. Baseball All Conference Caleb Bray
- 11. Track Section Participants Gavin Hockstedler, Gage Hockstedler, Brady Skeim, Leokadia Bring, Brooke Olson, Austin Kautzman, Treston Nichols, Liam Collins, Emma Nelson, Regan Mimnaugh, Jessica Larson, and Ada Lee.
- 12. Track State Participants Treston Nichols, Brady Skeim, Liam Collins
- 13. Golf All Conference Shylo Edin
- 14. Trap League State Participants Halle Baldwin, Owen Baldwin, Jaden Edberg, Havanna Frazer, Gage Gilbert, Connor Hansen, Jackson Hoglo, Rhiannon Horien, Landon Jarshaw, Sophia Klegstad, Cade Knutsen, Taylor Knutsen, Jarett Lee, Jeraldine Lee, Jocelin Lee, Jesse Martinson, Jaxon Melcher, Alexander Nelson, Beau Nelson, Emma Nelson, Eve Nelson, Gavin Nelson, Kieran Nelson, Eizen Olson, Layci Olson, Dallas Peterson, Tarina Rux, and Ryder Verbout.
- 15. State Trap League Award Winners 1st place JV female Havanna Frazer; 2nd place JV female Jeri Lee; 1st place novice female Taylor Knutsen; 3rd place JV male Dallas Peterson; 1st place JV team class 5A and 1st place novice team class 5A.

Member Craig Bakke moved and Mindy Dunrud seconded the motion to accept the following Personnel Updates:

- Resignation of Mackenzie Nelson, Grade 3 Teacher
- Resignation of Ryan Clarke, Custodian
- Hire of Katie Johnson, Grade 4 Teacher
- Hire of Abby Dahl, Grade 3 Teacher
- Hire of Laura Underdahl, Student Council Advisor
- Hire of Emma Viken, Close Up Lead Advisor
- Hire of Dustin Dahl, Close Up Fundraising Assistant
- Hire of Trista Lund, Yearbook Advisor
- Hire of Katie Olson, Envirothon and Riverwatch Advisor
- Hire of Shawn Donarski, Custodian
- Renewal of District Technology Coordinator, Trista Lund
- Renewal of Elementary Technology Coordinator, Matt Nelson
- Renewal of Community Education Coordinator, Missy Bjorgaard, MC.

Member Rob Anderson moved and Mark Knutson seconded the motion to approve the 2022-2023 Preliminary District School Budget as follows: MC.

	Revenue	Expense	Net
General	6,354,103.00	6,211,818.00	142,285.00
Food Service	336,600.00	335,478.00	1122.00
Community Education	117,517.00	116,643.00	874.00
Scholarship	4000.00	4,000.00	0
Overall	6,812,220.00	6,667,939.00	144,281.00

Member Zackary Nicklin moved and Robi Anderson seconded the motion to approve the payment of Fiscal Year End bills. MC.

Member Mark Knutson moved and Zackary Nicklin seconded the motion to approve the Support Staff Wage and Benefit Increase as presented by the committee. MC.

Member Craig Bakke moved and Mindy Dunrud seconded the motion to Call for Bids on Milk Products for the 2022-2023 School Year as required. MC.

Member Kayla Nelson moved and Patti Anderson seconded the motion to accept the following donations with thanks: \$3000 from the Agassiz Rod and Gun Club to be used towards the gym floor restoration. MC.

Member Zackary Nicklin moved and Craig Bakke seconded the motion to approve the sale of the used High School Library furniture. MC.

Member Patti Anderson moved and Mindy Dunrud seconded the motion to approve the NWRIC Rental Agreement for 2022-2023. MC.

Member Mark Knutson moved and Rob Anderson seconded the motion of the Resolution to give Superintendent Jeffrey Lund MDE IOWA/EDIAM Authority. MC.

Member Mindy Dunrud moved and Craig Bakke seconded the motion to adjourn. MC. Meeting adjourned at 8:41 P.M.

Regular School Board Meeting 7:30 P.M.

## Announcements:

July 19 2022

July 19, 2022	J	Policy Committee Meeting 7:00 P.M.		
Attest:				
Chairperson Mar	rk Knutson	Patti Anderson, Clerk		